girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seastreet's quiz

It was Seastreet what made me done it, honest gov...

(1) What personal qualities and skills do you think politicians should have, if you hold out for politicians with qualities and skills at all? Explain.

I used to say that they shouldn't want to be a politician. Then George W. came along, so now I guess that I think they should be smart and not want to be a politician.


(2) If you're to design a semester's curriculum for a literature course, and your students can buy and read ten books, what do you put on the list, and why? What's your course called?

Ten whole books in one semester. I'm going to be a little more easy going on them than Zeroreverb7 (I have fond memories of a tutor telling us: "James Joyce took three years to write Ulysses and I don't expect you to take any less time to read it.")

  • "Anna of the Five Towns" by Arnold Bennett. Because I loved that book and I guess he's not so widely read
  • "Mansfield Park" by Jane Austen, because Fanny is an exemplary heroine, who knows just what she wants and never deviates, and (I don't want to ruin the ending for you) she gets it too
  • "Madame Bovary" by ... shit, who was it? Gustave Flaubert, because it's a grand book, and will serve as a warning against reading too many of the books on the list
  • "Morvern Callar" by Alan Warner, because I've just decided that my course is going to be called "Singular Women", and she's one of them
  • "Antony & Cleopatra" by William Shakespeare, because I need to read it again and I love that line about Cleopatra: "Other women cloy the appetites they feed, but she makes hungry where most she satisfies"
  • "Jane Eyre" by Charlotte Bronte, because reading it still makes my heart beat faster, like it did when I was 14 (and Jane is far superior to Cathy)
  • "The Virgin Suicides" by Jeffrey Eugenides, which is, I suppose, about five singular women. And there will be lots to discuss about the first person collective narration
  • mmm... I'm running out here, anyone know any other singular women?

    (3) What book has influenced your life more than any other?

    "Generation X" seriously made me want to go and work at a Chanel counter, but I still haven't done that. I guess it did solidify my belief that chasing along some crazy career path wasn't going to make my life good.

    (4) What's your impression of the study of philosophy? Useless bourgeois indulgence? Useless intellectual indulgence? Useless bourgeois intellectual indulgence? Out of touch with reality these days? All for it except when your tax dollars go for college students to read Marx/Bloom/Plato/Foucault/the Bible? Think reading Kant helps you with your tax returns? I realize this is probably a lame question, because either you won't give a shit, or you will and will probably not feel like going into details in service of such a puerile line of inquiry. So maybe I'll abandon this question altogether. But wait, I'm still talking. Oh, shit. I guess what I'd like to know is what those of you who read philosophy get out of it, how you got started, who you like, and why; those of you who don't, I'd like to know whether you object to it for some reason or just don't have time.

    I've never read Kant or filed a tax return. Oh, wait, I think I have filed a tax return, but it was a long time ago. Anyway, anything that can help give us perspective isn't a bad thing. I recently decided I probably need to read some philosophy as I felt that I was unequipped to deal with moral questions in any kind of rigorous fashion. But I'm reading a book of essays about food at the moment.


    (5) I'm thinking of something... green. Something green.

    I'm drinking green tea as I'm answering this! WE HAVE SO MUCH IN COMMON!

    (5) That was a joke. Ha, ha! Seriously. Is this the fifth question, or the sixth?

    So you're telling me we have nothing in common?

    (5) The posers of the previous question have been sacked. For keepsies this time. Sleeping with your coworkers. What's your feeling? (Not that I am now or have in any way considered sleeping with coworkers lately. I promise.) Have you ever? Do you refuse? Morally wrong? All your coworkers are ugly/stupid/boring/probably bad in bed?

    Well, I can't say I've ever refused. Not that I can think of. Some of my co-workers are quite good looking. Anyway, I stick with sleeping with my co-workers friends. WAIT. I have turned down co-workers! Hurrah for me! It was a long time ago though. Telling them you're ovulating and sure to get pregnant is polite, if there are no condoms to hand.





    10:35 a.m. - 2003-04-16

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

  • latest entry

    about me

    archives

    notes

    DiaryLand

    contact

    random entry

    other diaries:

    jennyj
    pablo
    pollymagoo
    buck88
    expatrica
    discodave
    exhaust
    zeroreverb7
    propeller
    trishtastic
    rue-madame
    starzero
    meepful
    cruel-irony
    heidiann
    division-day
    heelandlass
    purplebanana
    captvfirefly
    mousemilk
    culotte
    terminal5
    atavist
    ottodixless