girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sock

?qsrday, walking along, and I've already been walking for quite awhile and suddenly I notice that there's something in the leg of my jeans that oughtn't be there. Some extra material that isn't normally there. And instantly I know, there's an item of previously worn clothing trapped in the leg of my jeans.

I'm so praying that it's not underpants, cos I remember the ones I was wearing before and they were purple. So I'm praying: "letitbeasockletitbeasock". And it was pretty busy around, but I managed to slip down a small sidestreet and joy-of-joys a closed pub with benches outside where I can sit and extricate the item that threatens to humiliate me. I guess there is a God, because it was only a sock. But I was giggling to myself as I deposited it in my bag, praying that I wouldn't forget it was there and fling it at some poor innocent shop assistant when I went to pay for something.

..........

I was thinking over the weekend how unfair the commandment about not taking the Lord's name in vain is. I mean, fair enough on some of the others, you know, it's not nice to steal and kill and all of that. But clearly people have been saying "Christing Norah" and "Bejeezus" for longer than the ten commandments have been around, and it just seems like... well, you know, God could just sort of overlook it. It seems a bit like a rule that was just put there so you'd have to break something, you know.

..........

Why is it that the Three Musketeers always fight with swords, with nary a musket in sight?

..........

I was talking to a friend about whether or not it's OK to buy Michael Jackson records anymore, and she said it would be OK to buy "Thriller" because it was made before those unpleasant allegations, but then I said that you'd still be putting money in his pocket. But I can't decide if it's OK or not.

10:07 a.m. - 2002-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless