girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The sole unquiet thing

I have a headache from coughing too much. I am coughing too much from smoking too much (at all?) on Friday, when I already had sore throat and probably should've been going to bed.

It's going to be a real shock when I wake up and I am 90 and I have no pension and no money, and no heating, and I'll be all like, well, I never thought that this would happen to me. By which I mean, I never thought that I would not get cancer/not be run over by a bus/not be mauled by a wild animal.

A big shock.

Twice in the past few days there's been a big frost in the park in the morning, so I've been thinking again of Coleridge and his frost performing its "secret ministry". I guess I always think about that when I see the first frost each winter. And maybe if I read some Robert Frost then I could think about that instead, because when I reread the rest of 'Frost At Midnight' then I feel annoyed because it's about how much better it is to grow up in the country. Which it may well be, but who wants to hear it?

2:54 p.m. - 2005-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless