girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One of Those Days

Today is officially One of Those Days, it would seem -- the website I work for was relaunched last night with mixed results this morning; my computer has been spontaneously shutting down; and some drain busted in the office, creating a very unpleasant stink. (As if there is such a thing as a pleasant stink.)

Still, my boss seems to be in a good mood. And I had to open his window for him, "because I broke my thumb and I can't turn things" -- yeah right.

I did laundry yesterday, at the laundrette or laundromat, depending where you live, and even though I'm 30 years old, I still feel like every time I manage to do some housework, there should be a tickertape parade and marching bands and wild celebrations.

And I was feeling inventive (ooh, I love that song, Brass in Pocket, the Pretenders... but not that kind of inventive) and I came up with a new way of thwarting the fox that attacks rubbish bags (trash sacks) and leaves rubbish strewn all over the street. I got tired of having to remember when I'd put any kind of scraps that are interesting to foxes in some kind of separate bag and walking down the street to put it in a bin and then feeling guilty that I was somehow dumping waste illegally. So, I sprayed my rubbish bag with Chanel No.5, and it worked.

I love the idea of Chanel No.5 (partly because when Marilyn Monroe was asked what she wore to bed, that was her answer), but frankly, it doesn't smell good on me. None of the Chanel fragrances do, which makes me sad. Because on the people they smell good on, they smell heavenly.

I just hope that the garbage man who took it away didn't have a dead mother or departed sweetheart who used to wear it.

10:03 a.m. - 2002-09-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless