girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saucy pedantic wretch

Although John Donne may not have been very glad to see the sun, I'm certainly very happy to have you back.

It's putting me in a much better frame of mind. Today's the first day I've been out without my coat, and it's so nice, it feels so free walking around. Free, but a little cold.

Although today I feel very odd, chemically, or physiologically not psychologically, although part of the oddness is having my head be all over the place this morning, and my eyes are opening themselves very wide indeed.

I don't feel bad though. Not at all, I feel rather well, in fact.

And I just saw an American Beauty plastic bag, blowing high in the sky, until it blew behind a house. Which reminds me that yesterday I was thinking how American Beauty and American History X were both directed by British directors, and I wondered if that meant something.

Uh oh... I just admitted to thinking, which I said, in yesterday's entry, I'd given up. Hey, I'm trying.

..........

I can't tell if Mrs Dalloway's late surge in popularity is because she's first on the list. Anyway, if I think there's a chance of getting my head together, Gravity's Rainbow will be the winner.

As an aside, last night I started reading Thomas Mann's Death in Venice, as a stopgap, but I was having trouble concentrating, and I was trying persuade myself to keep reading by giving myself the following pep talk:

Think how good you'll feel when you've finished this story. It won't take you long, and at the end of it, you'll be one of the people who've read "Death in Venice" and you'll know what it's all about and what people are talking about when they talk about it. So go on, just read it

Only got about five pages in. Oh dear.

Which book should I read next?

Free polls from Pollhost.com

..........

Some people, like VanKooky and Seastreet really write much better to-do lists than I do, so I'm going to just do things on other people's from now on instead of wasting valuable time and thought writing my own.





11:00 a.m. - 2003-03-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless