girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Too many books

One day of drinking... well, one evening, and I wake up the next day filled with self loathing.

Although it was unwarranted, as I tried to point out to myself. And I succeeded, I think, in shaking off that feeling by this morning (24 hours later) while crossing Richmond Bridge on the bus and thinking "Really, though, I don't give a fuck".

And I don't.

I started reading "The Art of Travel" by Alain de Botton yesterday, who I saw last Thursday in the nice deli on Shepherds Bush Road.

I admit that I had a wee small crush on the man when he did his show "The Consolations of Philosophy" and also his programme "How Proust Can Change Your Life" made me start reading Proust. Although I didn't finish it.

But this is the first book of his I've actually read. I got it for my birthday last August from the same person who gave me Mrs Dalloway, which I'm struggling to read.

"The Art of Travel" is great though. Good preparation for going away, I think.

I also started reading "The Sex Life of My Aunt" by Mavis Cheek, which I bought because I met her once and she was absolutely lovely and more importantly she told me You seem like a writer, and I was thrilled. But I've got too many books now, silly silly girl.

Too many books, nowhere to live.

11:06 a.m. - 2003-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless