girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The party is over

The Tupperware� party that is. The company is quitting the UK and Ireland (why have I never read an Irish diary on Diaryland, I wonder?), because times have changed and I don't know, I guess that people (housewives?) have realised that they can just go crazy and like... go to a SHOP and buy plastic containers! And that people (housewives?) are realising that really, plastic containers are not such daunting and complicated items that you actually NEED someone to, like, demonstrate how they work!

I've never been to a Tupperware� party. In fact, I believe I was recently counselling a fellow Diarylander, Seastreet, that he couldn't possibly need Tupperware�, after reading that entry that I've linked to right there. I did go to some kind of make-up party thing when I was a teenager, and it seemed really strange, like a religion.

I'm definitely not a natural-born salesperson, and I've been known to say some rather unkind things about the people who work in sales jobs, on account of the fact that there tend to be quite few of them around in publishing companies. I guess I can't really bear to be around zeal for something so phony baloney. Mostly zealots, for anything, just scare me quite a lot.

Zealous rhymes with jealous... interesting.




10:31 a.m. - 2003-01-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless