girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scenes from a Chinese restaurant

These "exclusive" places are always such a huge disappointment. Because I really WANT them to be exclusive, I want them to be filled with people who are vastly better than me, who will make me feel ashamed of my lowly job and lack of fashion sense and plain looks. But they're just filled with dull, normal people who, I guess, have big expense accounts. I mean, there were people there who were trying, I suppose, but they were failing miserably. Like the girl wearing her brand new (I could see the unmarked soles) Jimmychoomanolikwhatevers that were high high high. So that was glamorous, but then she was already getting painful feet and shuffling back and forth, so then that ruined it. And I don't know ... well, what can you say about girls in miniskirts with big thighs except "don't sit with your legs crossed, especially if you're wearing flesh-coloured underwear"? The only thing you can count on is that at least one of the staff will look down on you, but this time it was a South African who was given that job, and really, I'm just not going to take that shit from a South African.

After I was left at the posh bar by she-who-was-paying, I went to a dive where my whole dinner cost less than one glass of Champagne. There I heard two Chinese boys (talking in English) complaining about how the English can't accept change and want to save every single old building. Which is funny, because English people (and me) who go to Hong Kong think it's terrible that in Hong Kong they knock down every single old building. Then I had to sit opposite two skinny boys in a row, one absorbed in his comic who looked like he was starving to death and didn't finish his dinner, and the next who was reading pages from the Lancet, but he had the worst hands ever that you would never want testing your tummy for tenderness. And I thought "Physician heal thyself", but I suppose he could just have been reading the Lancet for fun.

10:53 a.m. - 2004-03-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless