girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which the author admits attending a Neil Diamond concert.

The good news is that I'm not walking around thinking about this all the time. Not at all. It's more like... "what do I have to say?"

There is no bad news, which is also good news.

The big thing I've been keeping secret from you, Dear Diary, is that I went to see Neil Diamond on Sunday.

I paid lots of money to go, too.

It wasn't so great. It wasn't so much cheesy as saccharine. Like I imagine a Vegas show would be. I think I first felt that as Neil blew his tenth kiss to the audience, with his hand patting his heart. And that was about five minutes in to a two-and-a-half hour show.

Neil Diamond has big ears like an old man. Which is what he is, I guess.

The cringiest moment of all was when he was singing some song... I've already forgotten which. He called this woman up from the audience and sang the end to her. He pecked her on the lips twice, and she went back to her seat.

Then he asked the guy sitting next to her: "Is she with you? ... I think she's ready for you."

This from an old man in a rhinestone-studded shirt with puffy sleeves.

Ready for you?

As Neil once said, in his better days... Good Lord.

I woke up this morning at 4am, worrying that I don't know enough straight men and that my birthday will be hugely odd because there won't be any straight men there.

That is what happens when you don't have real problems. I'm going to start thinking about money, I think that is the best thing to worry about.

9:18 p.m. - 2002-07-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless