girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On hangovers.

If I do have a regret in life, it's this -- that it took me so long to perfect my hangover management technique.

To be sure, I can't drink as much or as often as I once did, I just don't think my liver is up to it. But I can drink a lot and get away with merely feeling tired and vacant the next day, but without the headache and throwing up that used to characterise my hangovers.

The sad thing is, this only ever lasts for so long before I get what I think of as the payback hangover. Nothing comes for free, so you get paid back for all those mornings you woke up feeling on top of the world, when you should have had your head down a toilet. You get paid back when you least expect it, like when you've had two glasses of wine and been in bed by 11pm.

I am due a payback hangover.

Questions:

- Why do people with hangovers in movies complain about loud noises? Has anyone ever done that in real life in the whole history of the world?

- Why is it when that when I wake up the morning after drinking, my nails are sometimes dirty, as if I've stopped to do a bit of planting in someone's garden on the way home?

- How did that puncture wound end up on my thigh in Bruges, 1996?

Lordy, who am I kidding. I may not be running to throw up in the toilet every ten seconds, by my concentration is shot and after every three words I stop typing to examine the split ends in my hair.

I'm going back to bed.

1:41 p.m. - 2002-08-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless