girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Second Coming

I don't know if this is a common phenomenon or not -- I kind of think it probably isn't that unusual for this to happen in sexually repressed, religion-crazed parts of the world.

Anyway, when my best friend was a teenager, I think she was about 13, she had what I guess was her first orgasm when she was sleeping.

Actually, she didn't grow up in a religion-crazed part of the world, or even in a religious family. But she was going to church.

So naturally she thought that this incredible feeling was actually a nocturnal visit from the Holy Spirit. And naturally she thought that she was now with child. Not just any child, or course, but with the Messiah, who had chosen her as the vessel for His Second Coming.

She's the kind of girl that... well, she took the news completely calmly. I mean, sure, why wouldn't the Second Coming start in a quiet middle-class suburb in Sydney via a 13-year-old girl.

I wish I could remember how she came to realise that she wasn't going to give birth to the Messiah. I know, though, that she contemplated telling her mother the Good News. I don't think she ever did, but it's fun to think how that conversation would have gone.

..........

She is still, in a technical sense, my Best Friend, but because she lives in Sydney and we're both crap at emailing, and because she has a propensity for calling me at very odd hours when I tend not to be in a very talkative mood, I don't actually know that much anymore about what is going on in her life.

I used go to church too, even though my family is not religious at all. But after a few years, when we got bitter and disillusioned, or maybe just came to our senses, we used to joke about how we were recovering Christians (reading teclo reminded me about this).

Now she just bitches to me about how her nerdy boyfriend (he's seen Star Wars, you know, hundreds of times) wears nerdy clothes and won't move out of home even though he's 31, and when he finally DID move out of home he won't do the dishes blah blah blah. But whenever I do see her, it's really like no time has been spent apart. My Best Friend.

11:58 a.m. - 2002-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless