girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Little Friend

My advice to you is this... don't read Donna Tartt's new book, "The Little Friend". I think whoever wrote the interview I read mustn't have finished the book when the wrote it, because they were saying it was good.

And I just didn't think that it was. I mean, it started off well, but I was pretty much lured in to thinking that there was this whole story going on that ... well, nothing happens, and yeah, it's pretty writing, but you know, if you're going to read that much then you want something to happen. At least I want something to happen.

Now I'm trying to decide what to read next (as I've ended up with a few books to choose from). My friend S. gave me "Mrs Dalloway" last night, because she'd just been to see The Hours, which I haven't seen, and we'd been talking about it.

I've got the new Dave Eggers book, "You Shall Know Our Velocity"; then because everyone talks about him and Laurence Sterne, I've got "The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy".

I've got the daunting prospect of Thomas Pynchon's "Gravity's Rainbow", but, gee, it does look really, well, it looks very difficult. Challenging. Interesting.

I mean, those are just some the books I've sitting at home waiting to be read, every time I go in a bookshop there's a million more things I think of. So, I'm asking for your opinion. Vote in my poll! Or not. Or make a suggestion in my guestbook. Or just tell me what your favourite book is. I'd be very grateful indeed.

Which book should I read next?

��

Free polls from Pollhost.com

..........

The pubic hair on the watercooler says hi, by the way





10:50 a.m. - 2003-03-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless