girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Walking

I must always live in a city where I can walk around a lot, otherwise however shall I get any proper thinking done.

In the book I mentioned a few entries back, The Art of Travel, Alain de Botton talks about travelling on trains and thinking. And he's right -- it's so much easier to think when you're on the move than when you're stuck with the same four walls.

I had a long walk last night.

I feel good.

It's so beautiful, my little bit of the river. Although... lots of dead things around yesterday, which is unusual.

It's really so English down there. Lush and green, ducks, swans, people rowing on the river, people cycling their rusty old bicycles. Some of the houses are real cottages, with wisteria growing all over the outside. And pub has an old sign still on the side ordering "No street criers".

Lovely, lovely. I'll miss it. Wherever I've lived in London I've been sad to leave in some way. And I always say I'll go back to where I've lived, but this place is just so huge it never happens. So it's been years since I've been to one of those bars in Hoxton; even longer since I've taken the 139 up Abbey Road past the EMI studios. I haven't been for a curry on Brick Lane for a long long time, and the chances of me ever making it to Columbia Road flower market on a Sunday before 1pm are very very slim indeed.

But you know. I could. And knowing that cheers me up. Not that I'm sad. But I'm glad to know it.

..........

You all should visit VanCookie and help him make a very serious decision he's considering at the moment.




10:38 a.m. - 2003-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless