girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend plans.

I'm looking forward to this weekend, because I get to go in a car and drive for ages, and hopefully listen to music (it's a hire car, I don't know what music facilities it has) and spend time with a good, fun friend.

It's so exciting getting to DRIVE, because I haven't driven a car for years, I don't think, and I barely even get to go in a private car, and I just love it.

I remember reading some Jerry Seinfeld thing about cars. Where he said he liked being in a car because you were moving but you were still; and you were outside but you were inside.

The pay-off is that at the end of the car journey is a wedding I'm not looking forward to, and the reception is going to be held on a beach. In Wales. In September. I wonder if I can put money on it raining, it seems like a sure thing. The invitation said "Join us for Pimms and games on the beach afterwards" or something like that. Games on the beach. If only it said "join us for sitting around in a pub", that would have been so much nicer.

I know. I just had lunch with my friend, B., the one who just rejoined this company, and he said I was in a cynical mood today. I've never really looked at it as cynicism, I think I'm just realistic.

The friend who is coming with me to Wales turns 30 today, and she's staying at my house, and I'm going to buy CAKE (sorry, cruel-irony) and if I'm feeling well off, maybe even Champagne. But I just checked my bank account -- oh dear.

But I have little to complain about. The weekend is a mere two hours away from me, and work should be pretty easy this afternoon. Have a grand weekend.

2:05 p.m. - 2002-09-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless