girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

33

I just looked back on my entries written on or around my birthday, which is today, for some kind of illuminating insight in to who I am and where I'm going, or how I'm not going anywhere, but I found none. Insights in to hangovers and a recollection of a drunken birthday argument with a friend who is now being treated for alcoholism, but that was it.

So, I'm 33. The age at which men must compare themselves to Jesus. I don't know what women are supposed to do with 33. It's a lucky number for me -- when I was in sixth grade and in the school band, I played flute. But the band owned two piccolos and every year two sixth-grade flautists were given them for a year. I was so desperate to have one. I had a book of studies for flute and piccolo which had a picture of a piccolo on the cover and I would stare at it longingly and develop fantasies about how if I drew it, then it would come to life.

My sixth-grade teacher was also the bandmaster. He devised a competition where if we could guess the number he was thinking then we would get one of the piccolos. Obviously, I realise now that he wanted to give me a piccolo, but I didn't at the time, and I chose 33, which he said was his number, so I got it, and it's always been my favourite number since.

I don't have any sense that 33 is going to be a lucky year for me, or anything like that. But as my Irish friend pointed out, turning thirty three on the third gives ample opportunity for ridiculous oirish accents, so I'll make do with that.

10:44 a.m. - 2005-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless