girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Adventures In Supermarkets part XXVII

I know you can't live without my exciting celebrity sightings, so I just have to tell you that I saw Alain de Botton in Tesco just now.

He was buying lots of things from Tesco's Finest range (I guess being a philosopher pays quite well), including, but not limited to, smoked salmon, mushroom soup, mushroom risotto and what appeared to be bags of salad leaves. He also had three bottles of orange juice, one large and two small. He was wearing glasses and looked ponderous, which is an entirely appropriate face to wear while shopping in a supermarket in my opinion.

Last time I saw Alain de Botton was in the deli, which has since burnt down... oooh.

In Tesco, I was approached by two of our senior citizens, one who asked me the use-by date on his shaved smoked turkey (Nov 27) and another who asked me to reach the cans on the top shelf (two small tins of Heinz Weightwatchers backed beans, and one small tin of Tesco's Health Eating baked beans... I guess she likes variety).

I bought a sandwich and Tunnock's Tea Cakes, a Braeburn apple (no Pink Ladies, sigh) and some liquorice allsorts (�4.22).

I love sweets.

Tonight I will attempt a visit to the West End, but who knows how easy it will be to get around with George W. Bush set to hit town. Paranoia has preceded him -- my first thought on seeing a stranger in a suit just now was that he must be secret service. Although he may have been testing the temperature of the heating... oh my, he's just come back and he has a floorplan of the building, jeepers I think they're on to me.

By the way -- I DO love swimming. But I still smell of chlorine. Which isn't the new Calvin Klein fragrance, although it is very evocative.

1:16 p.m. - 2003-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless