girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An unpleasant whiff of apprehension

It is no longer a mystery to me why people buy non-drop Christmas trees... disposing of ours was like getting rid of a body (except substitute needles for blood). But it's gone, Christmas is over, which is kind of nice. Actually, ever since I heard this poem in September, I've been waiting for it to be after Christmas, so I can read it and think... ah, yes, that's how it feels.

"The Christmas Feast is already a fading memory,
And already the mind begins to be vaguely aware
Of an unpleasant whiff of apprehension at the thought
Of Lent and Good Friday which cannot, after all, now
Be very far off."

It's Auden. Tomorrow then I can think "ah, yes, that's how it feels" about this line in particular:

"The streets
Are much narrower than we remembered; we had forgotten
The office was as depressing as this."

New year's eve was marvellous though, and I have plans to make work happy for myself once again. So it's OK.

2:13 p.m. - 2006-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless