girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chelsea afternoon

Yesterday in a quest for Something To Do, I went for a bus ride (I do love a bus ride) to Chelsea. On the way home I had an adventure! Three Spanish girls sat on the bus next to me (one next to me, two over the aisle). They were a bit noisy and annoying but only in a high-spirited, having an adventure in London kind of way.

Then when they got off at Piccadilly Circus, I looked down and saw a mobile phone. I was kind of dazed and looking at it is af it was a moon rock or something I'd never seen. But that mustn't have lasted too long, because then I looked down at the pavement (I was upstairs) and managed to catch the eye of the girl (not by waving frantically or anything) and showed her her phone. Then this amusing, film-like chain of events kicked in. By the time I got downstairs, it seemed everyone on the bus knew that they'd left something behind.

One woman was telling the driver to stop and open the doors (but he didn't). Then a man was saying to give him the phone and he would hold it out the window for the girls. And another woman was saying she'd take it and give it to them when she got off. But window man's idea was best, and the girls got it back.

It was fun because we were supposed to all be miserable, self-absorbed Londonders, but then there were four of us trying to be Good Samaritans.

Before that, I was in a cafe and they had a sign saying "hot cross bun and any coffee or tea, �3.00". So I sat down and asked for a coffee and a hot cross bun, and the waitress (French) couldn't understand what I was saying until I went and pointed at them. Then at another table, I heard a couple ask their waiter (French) for a hot cross bun, and he was like "What?" The thing is, it was about the only thing they had on the counter to eat and they had a sign right next to it.

It was a really nice hot cross bun when it arrived though.

It was in a funny grocers, Partridges. It has super expensive fancy foods from all over the world, and then kind of trashy things that expats must miss, like some brand of Dutch crisps and Kraft Mac and Cheese (at about �3.95 a box, I guess that is way inflated).

It was a nice afternoon.

11:19 a.m. - 2006-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless