girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chip buttie disaster

I saw people eating chocolate on television, and it was making me laugh out loud, it's been more than three weeks since I ate chocolate. This scene of a woman warming up her Galaxy chocolate bar between her thighs until it was the worst consistency, you know how it can get. It was weird, it suddenly seemed like chocolate was something beyond food. I was watching television, you see, but it was a fabulous programme, about comfort food.

The show had my absolute favourite food writer, Nigel Slater, even though I seldom read the Observer, and I don't own any of his books (I hardly have any recipe books, I feel as if I used to have recipe books, but that somehow they've moved away from me now).

But I love Nigel Slater because (a) I think he writes well and (b) I love that he loves trashy food just as much as he loves organic guinea fowl or whatever.

But Nigel Slater almost caused a horrible fire in a flat I lived in, after he wrote a piece in the Observer about the perfect chip buttie (that's a sandwich with ... um, not fries, but you know, big fat potato chips, for the people speaking a different kind of English to me).

Anyway, he lovingly described it all (I loved that he said it had to have processed cheap white bread), and he had a recipe, so, it was Sunday and my flatmate Barry decided to make chip butties for us.

But I guess he put too much oil in the pan, or got it too hot or the chips had water on them, because when he lowered them into the hot oil, it just bubbled over like a volcano, all over the gas cooker. And then another flatmate, who always seemed so useless, but she just sprang to the rescue with wet teatowels and put out the fire! It was like seeing an action hero.

And Barry even managed to make us chip butties too, so it's OK for me to still love Nigel Slater.

Even if he did write a book about juicing.

9:19 p.m. - 2003-03-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless