girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dirty Pretty Things

I like it when it rains all day on a Sunday, because it means that I don't need to make up some reason for staying inside... mostly in bed... all day. I think it's been raining all day.

I wasn't hungover. I had the very pleasant experience of coming home after a couple of glasses of wine over dinner. I went to the movies with S&D, we saw Dirty Pretty Things. We all agreed it was a good movie as we left, but in the five minutes we took to get from the cinema to the restaurant, the plot had gaping holes in it, and before we'd got our menus, Audrey Tautou's Turkish accent was "terrible" (although none of us could really think exactly how a Turkish accent sounds).

S&D were married earlier this year, and they never lived together before, so this is their first Christmas together. And D was telling me how he was really aware that everything they did this Christmas could potentially set a precedent, and end up becoming a tradition for Christmases to come. They make me laugh, they're so happy, S tells me everytime I see her: "Being married is so great!"

..........

Yesterday I also went to see the Versace exhibition that is on at the V&A and it was super glamorous to be around all of those beautiful clothes. Whenever I've seen haute couture, it doesn't date, I mean, it's often so preposterous, it just never looks like it belongs to any time, and that was the same with some of the stuff there.

There were dresses there that you'd seen in magazines, dresses that made careers, that became icons. Oh, and the most beautiful beautiful gowns, and these incredible mesh dresses that weigh a ton.

But the men's clothes... urgh, blah, horrible. Just... awful. Yuck. And some of the women's stuff was like that too. Mostly the stuff that you would actually see people wear in real life. People with vast amounts of money and no taste.

The best bit was at the end when you could feel some of the clothes, and really look at them up close. But even in a stupid Versace exhibition there have to be complete fucking exhibition wankers, saying wanky things like: "I've never been to an exhibition and seen so many people smiling." I knew someone who invented the collective known "a self satisfaction of museum goers", and yeah... it's so true.

I guess I'm one of them though. Oh well.





4:19 p.m. - 2002-12-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless