girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Have some more chicken, have some more pie

A vegetarian information site calculates the amount of meat that the "average British meat-eater" gets through (well, the deaths they are responsible for, is the way it puts it).

It's kind of a lot of meat: 760 chickens, 46 turkeys, 29 sheep, 20 pigs, 15 ducks, seven rabbits, five cows, one goose and more than 1,000 fish.

I think I need to hurry up on the goose, because I'm probably less than an eighth of the way through that, but I'm definitely more than an eighth of my way through life. And I think I'll take off a couple of the rabbits and replace them with those other odd bits of meat that don't add up to a full animal: kangaroo and crocodile, a couple of servings of goat. And that portion of reindeer once.

I have never knowingly eaten frog, horse, donkey or dog. Or any endangered species. Or snails, which I think I would find hide to swallow. LITERALLY. Well, the swallow bit I mean literally, I don't think that a snail would literally be hard, unless it had been frozen.

10:54 a.m. - 2005-03-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless