girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not a good time

If someone (not a friend) rings you up at work and says "Is now a good time to talk?", how acceptable is it to say "I was just about to put a piece of chocolate in my mouth, so it's not a good time, no"?

I suppose the old "I'm on a deadline" always works, except when they then want to know when would be a good time to call. Apparently "never" or "after 4pm when I've left the office" are not acceptable answers to that question.

A friend is telling me I should take up guitar. Of course, she lives in Wales, so she would say that, I'm not sure my new flatmates would feel the same way. Because when I showed my piccolo (not a euphemism) to one of them (the burly scaffolder), he said "Can you play it?" (not a euphemism) and when I said I could, he said "Do you play it often?", in the way that implied he hoped I didn't play it often (I don't).

Ah, I won't buy a guitar. I'm joining No Hobby Group. We never meet, we never do anything. Actually, there is no we, it's just me.

2:30 p.m. - 2005-03-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless