girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fun?

I could probably do with not being at work today.

Mind you, there's a farmer in my house at the moment (the boyfriend of flatmate Ange's sister), so it's kind of calmer being at work.

I'm tired.

I did end up going out last night, and it was ... fun? OK, fun, that will do. Fun. It was fun!

It was OK. It was lots of Australians and a couple of New Zealanders, and one girl from former GDR, she was really interesting and nice. And, she actually asked me a question. I notice that all the time now, I stand there quizzing people about what kind of farm they work on and what they do when they're not working, and where they've lived and what they've done, and no one asks questions back.

I met the Lisa who fascinates them all so much, and I don't really get it. Mmm... she does seem "difficult", like she would be a drama queen. And she had this enormously sad air about her, from the second I met her. I wonder what's happened in her life. So sad, such an air of sadness, it was really strong. Then again, it was her birthday and I think they were telling me that she doesn't like birthdays. I talked to her for a bit, I didn't get why she's so fascinating to my flatmates -- they talk about her so much. But maybe because by the time I got talking to her she was quite drunk.

I don't know, I got this feeling last night that I was being told supposedly revelatory things that were supposed to shock or something. Like Lisa telling me she The Straightest Gay Man In The World "used to be my fiance", and waiting for me to ... I don't know, gasp? And then she's like ... "He's gay!", still she's waiting for the gasp, and I'm like smiling nicely waiting for the punchline.

So finally she put it into context and admitted it had been for passport reasons, so I guess her big hilarious story about being engaged to a gay guy sort of flopped.

Also The Straightest Gay Man In The World told me that for the last three months of his relationship with his girlfriend, which was years ago I guess, he'd also been shagging his girlfriend's brother. Then I didn't know if I should pretend to be surprised that he'd had a girlfriend, but Ange had already told me. Ange is fascinated with The Straightest Gay Man In The World too and talks about him a lot. I'm not sure anyone's fascinated with Ange, but she's very nice.

Their friends are nice and they're mostly uncomplicated (except for Sad Lisa, who seems complicated), and they're instantly welcoming, like already asking me "are you coming tomorrow night?", as if I was already one of them and would know about their plans tomorrow night. I don't know what they're doing though, but I just want to go home really.

Mind you, there's a farmer in my house at the moment.



10:20 a.m. - 2003-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless