girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gilbert, George, Ian and Peter

I've developed the ability to summon up famous people, it seems. For last Thursday I was wondering out loud if Gilbert and George would be dining at their usual restaurant that night, and then sure enough we saw Gilbert or George walking down the street an hour later. Then yesterday, while I was sitting in a bar waiting for my friends, who were sitting in a different bar, I saw Ian Hislop. Early in the morning I went past the Private Eye office and thought that if I saw him I could ask for a job; then later that day I read the birthdays in the newspaper and it was his birthday that day. But when I saw him in the street I could neither say happy birthday nor ask for a job because I was trapped upstairs with no opening windows. Not that I would have anyway, most likely.

Then again, on Tuesday I saw Peter Tatchell riding his bicycle through London, and I don't think I've thought about him for a while. I do love him though, he's amazing, he's so brave. And just imagine if they'd let him arrest Robert Mugabe in 1999. Instead, they arrested Peter Tatchell.

I was dreading today's two-minute silence, although I don't know why, but it was amazing, even out in the suburbs of Hammersmith there were several hundred office workers out on the street saying nothing for a few minutes, and it felt really good. Afterwards, my friend emailed to say she is glad she lives in London, and so am I.

2:02 p.m. - 2005-07-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless