girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Changing guard

They're changing guard at Buckingham Palace
Christopher Robin went down with Alice
Alice is marrying one of the guard
"A soldier's life is terrible hard,"

Says Alice.

I had to get the bus to where I was going yesterday because "the London Fire Brigade were in attendance" at King's Cross and a there was "person under a train" at St James' Park so the tube wasn't going anywhere, and on the way I saw the guard on their (its?) way to the changing of the guard. The Changing Of The Guard.

I ate trifle at lunch yesterday, and I've never had trifle before. I probably won't again. Then, for the second day in a row, someone bought me a glass of Champagne, and that really makes me happier than just about anything.

So. I'd never eaten trifle, and now I'm 30 and I have. And here's a list, completely random and by no means comprehensive, of things that I've never done.

  • I've never been to a funeral
  • I've never seen a dead body
  • I've never been to Rome. Or Venice. Or Florence. (Obviously I've not been lots of places, these are just places I feel I ought to have seen by now)
  • I've never danced with the devil in the pale moonlight
  • I've never been on a tube train that has had a person under it
  • I've never had a hangover so bad that I couldn't drink more alcohol that day
  • I've never been a bride's maid. Or a bride. Or a fiancee
  • I've never eaten a Big Mac
  • I've never seen heroin up close (but I give it up every year as my New Year's resolution because it's nice to have at least one resolution that you're going to keep)
  • Apart from that, I've never kept a New Year's resolution
  • I just remembered how much I liked some of that A.A. Milne poetry when I was... well, older than six, but you know, around then.

    And I knew someone called Christopher Robin. True.






    1:00 p.m. - 2002-11-21

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

    latest entry

    about me

    archives

    notes

    DiaryLand

    contact

    random entry

    other diaries:

    jennyj
    pablo
    pollymagoo
    buck88
    expatrica
    discodave
    exhaust
    zeroreverb7
    propeller
    trishtastic
    rue-madame
    starzero
    meepful
    cruel-irony
    heidiann
    division-day
    heelandlass
    purplebanana
    captvfirefly
    mousemilk
    culotte
    terminal5
    atavist
    ottodixless