girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Books I've read and a movie I've seen.

So, it's the old "I wrote a whole entry and before I could submit it my whole computer crashed" entry.

It's a mistake to ever try to recreate something you've written though. At least that's what I think, when it happens at work. I usually get so caught up in trying to remember what I was saying, stuck in the belief that it was the best thing I'd ever written in my life, that it usually takes about ten times as long to write.

I do know I'd mentioned the Great Fire of London. That was September 3, 1666, and I've read a couple of people's diaries from that day. People who'd gone to various vantage points to see what their eyes could not believe. This city burning down.

It's amazing, though, that it just sort of came back again. When I read old accounts of London, it feels like it hasn't really changed at all.

Ack, see, I'm trying to rewrite what I just lost, and I'm not succeeding.

.............

One thing I wanted to do in my diary is just to write down what I'd seen and read, so I can remember, because I have such a terrible memory.

Right now there are two dead teenage girls in my head, two murdered girls. Kay, from the movie Insomnia, which I just saw this evening, and which I really liked; and the lovely Susie Salmon from Alice Sebold's novel The Lovely Bones.

That's the book that was making me cry last night, and it will probably make me cry tonight, and I imagine it will only make me cry for one more night, because it's too good to leave for long.

I also wanted to remember that I'd finally read some Tolstoy. After I'd seen the movie Ivansxtc, I'd been looking for "The Death of Ivan Ilyich", and I finally found a copy, in a book of three stories.

I'm so glad I read it, it was truly amazing. It was just, it felt so honest and insightful, I was amazed. And it wasn't even really hard to read, I'd had this idea Tolstoy would be really hard going.

I loved Ivan Ilyich so much, I decided to read the first story in the book, "Happy Ever After". It was also good, not as good, but still interesting.

It had some lines that I very much liked, and I wanted to repeat them here. So, I'm going to do just that.

"All of us, and especially you women, must discover for ourselves all the futilities of life in order to come back to life itself: the experience of other people is no good."

(I was going to leave out the bit about women, but, you know, it's there, so I didn't.)

Anyway. I still can't forget about Morvern Callar. In fact someone added me to her favourites based on the fact I love her. I put her on the bookshelf in between Madame Bovary and Antony & Cleopatra, so she'd have some other singular women for company.

8:51 p.m. - 2002-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless