girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which the diarist actually overhears someone use the word 'metrosexual' in a non ironic way

Sex and The City has so so much to answer for... the fact I now have to spend half my life in cocktail bars instead of pubs if I want to see half my friends; that whole excuse for women to develop an obsession with owning hundreds of pairs of vastly impractical, don't-actually-go-with-anything-can't actually-walk-in-them-but-they're-"cute" high heel shoes; that whole strapless dress deal (and don't get me started on the gigantic-flower pinned on your collar thing). And now, in perfectly pleasant non-cocktail bars, I have to overhear snatches of conversation that someone has CLEARLY rehearsed because they're labouring under the illusion that the way people talk on Sex and The City is the way people talk in real life.

For example, "So, my ex-New Best Friend ... blah blah blah ... and I thought he was homosexual, but it turns out he was only metrosexual, har har har har"

Shut up.

11:37 a.m. - 2005-01-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless