girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which the diarist admits to having a hobby of sorts

I bought a half-price page-a-day calendar that has origami instructions so you can turn each day that goes by into an object such as a penguin, a happi coat or a steamboat.

I really like it, I like to make the folds really precise. It is amazing how much -- I don't really have sufficient vocabularly to describe this -- scope there is when folding. I mean, you think you've folded one side of the paper exactly evenly and then you fold the other side in a way that also appears to be exactly even, but still, in the middle it appears that it wasn't exactly even because they don't quite match.

It's like in music, when you hear one note and you realise that within that note there are infinite slight variations, if you really pay attention.

I don't think I'm explaining very clearly, and it doesn't even matter anyway.

Nothing does!

Well, I really like doing it but of course now I want to buy nicer paper. It's nice doing quiet hobby-type things for a change.

I have to have my hair cut, I'm spending too much time now just looking at it and cutting out split ends.

2:31 p.m. - 2004-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless