girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But am I even stoic?

I haven't been updating my diary because I haven't had anything to say. I mean, I've been going out and stuff, nothing exciting, awards dinners, birthdays, corporate lunches, a night of making out that I was a rock star (strictly in a musical sense) and getting sick again. The most fun thing I can think to tell you isn't even mine to tell -- my friend who is now gay is going to meet his ex-girlfriend and her new girlfriend in New York, which is sort of fun in a sounds-like-a-plotline-from-a-sitcom kind of way.

Not that I am in any way comparing myself with John Le Carre, but I was reading this article in The Independent this morning, and it's interesting, talking about the impossibility of optimistic writing in the current political climate. And I sort of feel the same, my general hopeless outlook on life at the moment isn't helped by everything that's going on in the world. I never used to feel like that, but now it seems so terrible, it really DOES seem that it's getting worse. Domestically and internationally.

It's also an interesting article because Will Self claims that he is "quite a jolly person" in it. He says there's room for stoicism, not optimism.

How are you anyway?

10:44 a.m. - 2003-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless