girlsdontcry's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Holiday from Myself

I'm not lazy, I've just been making the wrong decisions, it turns out.

It's good news. It's not that I'm lazy, it's just that I'm choosing to have my gratification instantly by staying in bed for an extra half hour instead of delaying it so that I'm relaxed on my way to work.

So now I've got a note that says "choose wisely" next to my head when I wake up.

I think I've always had a sense of the life-saving properties of Post-It Notes, but this is the first time I've attempted to put them into practise.

I'm trying to have a holiday from myself. Because ages ago I started reading the Alain de Botton book "The Art of Travel" (it's still sitting on my chest of drawers, gathering dust in the way that black things do) and he was saying that no matter what paradise holiday destination you go to, you'll still be there with yourself.

I thought about that a lot and it seemed really sad. So now I've got this idea to have a holiday from myself. Just by doing stuff that I wouldn't do. I mean, it's a bit dangerous, because on the one hand it an mean that I eat really well one day. On the other hand, it could end up meaning that I quit my job to join the Hare Krishnas.

Well, I probably won't take it that far. But I've started already. Hmm mmm. 'snot easy though.

This time last year on Girls Don't Cry.

6:12 p.m. - 2003-09-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jennyj
pablo
pollymagoo
buck88
expatrica
discodave
exhaust
zeroreverb7
propeller
trishtastic
rue-madame
starzero
meepful
cruel-irony
heidiann
division-day
heelandlass
purplebanana
captvfirefly
mousemilk
culotte
terminal5
atavist
ottodixless